Chelsea crowned champions as Liverpool relegated from Women’s Super League

single image

After a series of meetings between the FA, FA Women’s Super League and the club’s, following a final vote, it was decided to end the 2019-20 season with immediate effect.

Chelsea have been crowned champions of the Women’s Super League, overtaking their rivals Manchester City on a points-per-game record, while Liverpool have been relegated.

(Image credit: Sky Sports News)

The WSL and Women’s Championship seasons were ended with immediate effect last month and all clubs were given three options to resolve the final standings.

When the league was suspended in March, Manchester City were top of the WSL on 40 points from 16 games while Chelsea were a point behind having played a game less.

(Image credit: Sky Sports News)

Clubs chose option one, which sees the tables decided on a points-per-game system as result of that Aston Villa are promoted as champions of the Women’s Championship.

Option two would also have used a points-per-game system, but there would’ve been no relegation and the WSL would’ve expanded to 13 teams next season, with Villa promoted.

The third and final option was for the WSL and Women’s Championship seasons to be voided, which is the decision the FA chose with the third tier and below of women’s football.

Liverpool, who have won the WSL title twice, in 2013 and 2014, said they are “disappointed” by the Fa’s decision to conclude the season. Adding, “We hoped for the opportunity to secure our status on the pitch.”

(Image credit: This is Anfield)

Chelsea have now achieved a domestic double, having lifted the League Cup in February, beating Arsenal 2-1 in the final.

Chelsea and Manchester City have also been confirmed as the two English teams selected for next season’s Champions League.

Last year’s Women’s Super League champions Arsenal miss out on a European place after finishing third in the league this season.


Source: Sky Sports News.

You may like