Entertainment National & International

Mamma mia, here we go again: Abba to release five new songs

single image

Abba will release five, rather than two, new tracks as their reunion is pushed back to 2021, according to Independent.

The Swedish pop group had announced in 2018 that they would be sharing two new tracks: ‘I Still Have Faith In You’ and ‘Don’t Shut Me Down’.

At the beginning of 2020, the group’s Benny Andersson promised that the material was “coming this year”.

They initially planned to release two new tracks this year, but due to “technical difficulties” and the ongoing coronavirus pandemic they have been forced to delay these plans.

Geoff Lloyd, co-host of the Reasons To Be Cheerful podcast, said: “I got to spend an hour […] with Björn Ulvaeus from Abba via Zoom. He’s quarantining – he’s got an island in the Stockholm archipelago.

“They’ve recorded five new songs. They should have been out at the end of last year… Because of technical difficulties and the pandemic, it’s delayed things. But he promised me that the new Abba music will be out in 2021.”

Abba’s last studio album was released in 1982, while three unreleased songs were released a decade later in 1993 and 1994.

The Swedish four-piece, consisting of Ulvaes, Benny Andersson, Anni-Frid Lyngstad and Agnetha Fältskog, shot to international fame in 1974 after winning the Eurovision Song Contest with the track “Waterloo”.

Speaking about getting the four of them back together in May, Ulvaes said: “It took half a minute and somehow we were back in time like we had been there yesterday as well. It was so strange. That feeling between us was extraordinary.”

Image: socialitelife.com

You may like